The Register and Regulation

The Academy holds a Professional Standards Authority (PSA) accredited voluntary register for those areas of the Healthcare Science workforce not covered by statutory registration and regulation.

The Accreditation quality mark signifies that the Academy, and its registrants, have met the Professional Standards Authority’s high standards in governance, standard-setting, education and training, management of the register, complaints handling and information; assuring the public and employers.

The PSA is an independent body, accountable to the UK Parliament and promotes the health, safety and wellbeing of patients, service users and the public by raising standards of regulation and voluntary registration of people working in health and care.

Read more about the PSA by visiting their website:

HCS Registration Council

The operation and governance of the Academy’s Register is overseen by the HCS Registration Council (formerly Regulation Council), which is independently chaired and operates at arms-length from the Academy.

The core objective of the Council is to protect the public by mitigating the risks posed to patients and the public by the Healthcare Science workforce that is not regulated by statute.

These risks arise because of the highly specialised, scientific nature of diagnosis, investigations and treatment provided by Healthcare Scientists and because of the potential impact on the health and wellbeing of patients and the public if diagnoses, investigations and treatment provided by those Healthcare Scientists were not of the highest possible standard.

Read more information about the Registration Council Members 

The detailed operation of the Regulation Council is set out in its Terms of Reference.

Agenda and minutes are available from the Academy Registration Council meetings pages

Further information

Rules for the operation of the Register

The Registration Council’s rules and procedures set out the day to day operation of the register. These were reviewed and updated on 1 May 2016, and include: