The National School of Healthcare Science is responsible for the development and approval of Practitioner Training Programme (PTP), and Higher Specialist Scientist (HSS) curricula on behalf of the Academy for Healthcare Science.

The curricula can be found here:



Curriculum development

The Academy maintains the Standards for Curriculum Development, which are available here .

The standards are important in that they specify the format to be used for all new PTP and HSST curricula. They cover: the importance of public and patient involvement; curriculum content; proper preparation for working life; professional regulation; and arrangements for regular curriculum review to ensure continued currency.

The National School of Healthcare Science is now the Health and Care Professions Council (HCPC) approved education provider for the Scientist Training Programme and therefore liaises directly with HCPC in relation to the approval of curriculum.