Academy Awards Ceremony 2019

Academy for Healthcare Science Celebrates Honorary Fellowship Awards

On 9th December 2019, the Academy for Healthcare Science celebrated its Honorary Fellows of 2019 at an award ceremony in London.

This is the second event organised to celebrate the achievements of Healthcare Scientists from across a range of fields who have contributed to the Academy’s aims and objectives – ensuring that Science and Healthcare Science continue to be recognised as the fundamental blocks of the Health and Care system, and in doing so continues to protect patients.

Prof. Brendan Cooper, President, Academy for Healthcare Science, stated in his address, “It’s a great privilege for The Academy to once again honour our newest Honorary Fellows.

The Academy is a relatively recent organisation, but it acts as the over-arching collective of UK Health Care Science Professionals, many of whom are members of professional bodies which have existed for anywhere between 10 to over 110 years. How many millions of patients have been diagnosed or treated during that time?

In appointing our new Fellows, who will be part of our established Fellows Group, they will act as our balance and check of our Professional Bodies Council and help to support our drive to be the independent representative voice UK Healthcare Science.

AHCS Honorary Fellowships are designed to recognise the most senior healthcare scientists who have either raised the profile of their profession, delivered excellent or innovative services or supported training and/or research in a healthcare science subject/area.

Whilst we have seen formidable changes over the centuries, arguably the last 100 years……….. indeed in the last 20 years…… has seen an acceleration of change – much of it has been technological and scientific – which has become a central driving force in the whole of healthcare.  At the centre of generating and delivering that innovation and technology are healthcare scientists – of which there are many of you in this room today, and we are going to hear our own roll call of selected healthcare scientists.

Our new Fellows were anonymously nominated by their Professional Bodies, before going through our Fellows Nomination Group process, and being finally approved by the Professional Bodies Council.  I would like to thank our Nominations group which consisted myself and the following Hon. Fellows;

Karen Stewart

Val Davison

Chris Gibson

Graham Beastall, who lead and completed his process.

As new Honorary Fellows you will be the check and balance of modern healthcare science for the Academy.  Your careers have contributed to the greatness of our NHS.  You have provided the high quality scientific and technological services that make a difference to our patients every day.

We live in very uncertain times, both nationally and internationally, but uncertainty, overcoming adversity, using reason and intelligence, and creating new ways forward are the bread and butter of the healthcare scientist – and as Fellows we will look to you for counsel, guidance and support in making decisions and flying the flag for HCS.

Can I thank you all for accepting our honorary fellowship and for doing all you have done to make UK healthcare science a beacon of global success and a light for our young scientist of the future currently at school or university to follow in your footsteps”.

Honorary Fellowship Certificates were then presented to:

  • David Brettle
  • Elaine Cloutman-Green
  • Theresa Fail
  • Nicola Fleming
  • Elizabeth Hughes
  • Gillian Manning
  • Michael Scott
  • Michael Thomas

Image Gallery