Healthcare Science Apprenticeships

An apprenticeship is a job with training. It enables someone to develop and demonstrate the knowledge, skills and behaviours they need to perform effectively in a particular occupation. The occupation is defined in the apprenticeship standard (Institute for Apprenticeships, 2017).

Four Standards have been developed by a Trailblazer Group for Healthcare Science:

Level 2 – Healthcare Science Assistant (approved for delivery May 2016)

Level 4 – Healthcare Science Associate (approved for delivery October 2016)

Level 6 – Healthcare Science Practitioner (approved for delivery March 2017) 

Level 7 – Clinical Scientist (approved for delivery November 2020)

Apprenticeships must last a minimum of 12 months and include 20 per cent structured off-the-job training before the end-point assessment takes place, to develop competence in an occupation.

The end-point assessment takes place when apprentices have completed their on-programme training and is mandatory. The end-point assessments are undertaken by an independent assessment organisation, which must be on the Register of Apprentice Assessment Organisations held by the Education and Skills Funding Agency (ESFA). The assessments must follow the published end-point assessment plans, also developed by the Trailblazer Groups (see links above).

The Healthcare Science Trailblazer Group is currently undertaking a review of the Level 2, Level 4 and Level 6 Healthcare Science Apprenticeship Standards and the associated end-point assessment plans. The Academy is actively contributing to the review.

What is the Academy’s role?

The Academy ceased its role with the Institute of Apprenticeships and Technical Education as the External Quality Assurance organisation in September 2022, as part of the transition to OfQual and the Office for Students taking responsibility for such external quality assurance. See here for more details: Institute for Apprenticeships and Technical Education – external quality assurance

There is currently one organisation approved by the Education and Skills Funding Agency to undertake end-point assessments (EPAs) in healthcare science:

National School of Healthcare Science can undertake the EPAs for the level 2 Healthcare Science Assistant apprenticeship, the level 4 Healthcare Science Associate apprenticeship, and the level 6 Healthcare Science Practitioner apprenticeship (where the degree is a non-integrated degree). See further information at:

Successful completion of the healthcare science apprenticeship standards leads to eligibility to apply to join a register.

Healthcare Science Apprenticeship Register The Standards that registrants must work to
L2 Healthcare Science Assistant AHCS Register (not accredited)*

–        now open

Healthcare Science Assistant
L4 Healthcare Science Associate AHCS Register (not accredited)*

–        now open

Healthcare Science Associate


L6 Healthcare Science Practitioner AHCS Register accredited by the Professional Standard Authority Practitioner
L7 Clinical Scientist Health and Care Professions Council Statutory Register HCPC Clinical Scientist


*The Academy may apply for accreditation by the Professional Standards Authority in due course.

The National School of Healthcare Science

The National School is also a key source of information for employers and potential apprentices in Healthcare Science.