Practical Skills for Professional Education and Leadership in Healthcare Science (PSEL)

The PSEL programme was recognised at the 2019 NHS Healthcare Science Awards, receiving the award for
Excellence in Workforce Development.  The PSEL team were announced as the winners by Vivienne Parry OBE
and presented with the award by Lord Prior of Brampton.

Practice Educator Programme (PEP)

The PEP programme was awarded Highly Commended in “The Excellence in Healthcare Science Workforce Transformation Awards” category at the 2022 Chief Scientific Officer’s Excellence in Healthcare Science Awards.  The Workforce Transformation award recognises how Healthcare Scientists are educated, trained and their skills used in innovative ways that are vital in ensuring healthcare scientists are able to work at the highest level and play their vital role in healthcare, reach their potential and do the best by patients.

The 2022 Chief Scientific Officer’s Excellence in Healthcare Science Awards celebrates the tremendous contributions and achievements of the healthcare science workforce and the impact they have on patient outcomes, by championing inspiring case studies of quality improvement, innovative partnerships, and pioneering service delivery.

Faculty Awards

Chairman’s Award

Ruth Thomsen, AHCS Leadership Ambassador, received the AHCS Chairman’s award for the successful development of the Leadership Faculty.  Its alumni is significant and Ruth also supported the vision to have a Healthcare Science peer reviewed leadership journal.

AHCS Honorary Fellowship

Dr. Sue Fergy received an Honorary Fellowship for her contribution in delivering excellent and innovative services and supporting leadership training for Healthcare Scientists.

(L – Ruth Thomsen; R – Sue Fergy)