Members of the Regulation Board

Biographies of the members of the Regulation Board


Chair (lay) – Mrs Patricia Le Rolland

Patricia has worked in the public sector for over forty years. She worked in the NHS, in healthcare education, in quality assurance and enhancement of higher education, and in statutory regulation of post-graduate medical specialist and GP training. Patricia has managed contracts, led on tenders and worked to meet the requirements of education commissioners and profession-specific regulators.

Training at St Thomas’s Hospital, Patricia specialised in intensive and coronary care before moving into medical oncology. She qualified and worked as a clinical teacher and teacher in healthcare settings. Her interests broadened out from a single profession to developing graduate and postgraduate courses that were multidisciplinary in nature. An Assistant Director at the Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education, she went on to the Postgraduate Medical Education and Training Board as Director of Quality, a UK wide statutory regulator and then spent a year advising the Postgraduate Board at the General Medical Council.

More recently Patricia was a self-employed consultant, is a Trustee/Director of Age UK Gloucestershire (AUKG), and Chair of the Board from 2017. Patricia started working with the Academy for Healthcare Science in 2014, becoming a non-executive director in 2018.


Janet Monkman,  Registrar

Janet joined the Academy as CEO in February 2013, bringing with her a strong commitment to the values of the Academy – most importantly the benefits of bringing together the entire Healthcare Science profession to benefit patient care and advance the Healthcare Science workforce. Janet took over the role of Registrar in February 2017.

Janet has had a long career in healthcare building from her work as a clinician to move into teaching and later management. She has a wide portfolio of experience in executive, chief executive and non-executive roles in public, private and third sector.


Andrew Davies, LSI Registration Council Chair

Andrew Davies is Market Access Director at the ABHI. His responsibility is to ensure that reimbursement, evaluation and adoption mechanisms are aligned and optimized to support access for medical technologies. This entails creating an on-going dialogue between industry and policy makers to ensure efficient and effective diffusion structures, processes and methodologies are created and maintained.

Andrew also leads on Ethics and Compliance for ABHI with responsibility for the Code of Business Practice as well as broader issues such as Human Rights.
Andrew has worked in the Medical Technology sector for over 20 years experience in the medical devices industry having worked within MedTech divisions of household names such as Thorn EMI, Philips and Bristol-Myers Squibb. He has held roles covering UK and international marketing, market access and business development across both capital and consumable equipment.

He has a degree in Applied Physics and a post graduate diploma in marketing.


David Stirling, Healthcare Science Profession Representative

David joined the NHS in 1992, after post doctoral research positions in the USA, and with the ICRF in Edinburgh. Employed as a Clinical Scientist with responsibility for Molecular Diagnostics within Haematology, his Clinical work extended to being specialty lead for Laboratory Haematology in an NHS Board with four acute hospital sites. He led the Molecular Pathology initiatives for Edinburgh, and the Scottish training schemes for Clinical Scientists in Haematology and Molecular Pathology. In 2011 he took up a part time secondment to Scottish Government as Healthcare Science Officer, and in March this year, became the first Director of Healthcare Science for NHS National Services for Scotland.

David is an HCPC partner, and is the Scientific Workforce lead for the Royal College of Pathologists.


Ian Shackell (lay)

Ian has extensive experience in risk management, regulation, governance and finance, particularly in the insurance industry. He was a senior manager at PricewaterhouseCoopers, where he worked for 12 years and has since been Head of Internal Audit at Aviva and has served on various Boards including Amlin Underwriting from 2000 to 2006 and Cardiff Pinnacle (BNP Paribas Group) from 2008 to 2010.

Ian continues to provide senior interim management services in the insurance industry particularly in risk management and compliance. Ian is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales and a Chartered Director. He holds a BA from Leeds University.